Welcome. How can we help you?

Bynder Orbit Knowledge base

Work with channels

A channel is a webpage with a collection of files that fit specific criteria. For example, the My Files channel displays all the files you have uploaded sorted from the newest to the oldest. Channels help you organize your files and ensure that the files you need are at your hand's reach.

Currently, Bynder Orbit has default channels available. However, in the future, you'll also be able to create personal channels.

Access channels

Channels are pinned to the top of your files overview. Click on the channel thumbnail to see the details.

channels

You can also access channels from the menu. Click dehaze to open your side menu and click Channels. Click on a specific channel to get to the channel detail page that shows all the files that belong to this channel.

For an overview of all available channels, open the side menu and click View all channels....

channel overview

Default channels

Currently, you can use 5 default channels:

  • My Files - lists all the files you have uploaded sorted from the newest to the oldest. If you have not uploaded any files, you will not see this channel.
  • Designer Files - lists the files with the .ai, .indd, .sketch, .psd extensions. If you do not have any such files in your portal, you do not see this channel.
  • Docs & Presentations - lists the files with .xls, .xlsx, .doc, .docx, .pptx, .key, .numbers, .pages and .pdf extensions. If you do not have any such files in your portal, you do not see this channel.
  • Uncategorized - lists all files that have no tags or categories linked to them. For example, if you upload files and do not enrich them with any data, the files will display in this channel.
  • Most downloaded - lists all the files that have been downloaded most frequently. The files with the highest number of downloads are shown first.
  • Most viewed - lists the most frequently viewed files. If a file detail page is opened, then this counts as a file view. The files in the channel are viewed most are the first on the list.

Pin and unpin a channel

You can decide which channels you want to see in your sidebar menu and on top of the file overview. By default all the channels are pinned and visible in the sidebar menu and on top of the file overview.

Unpin a channel

  1. c
  2. In the Pinned Channels section, hover over the channel you want to unpin.
  3. Click more_horiz > Unpin Channel.

    unpin channel

    The unpinned channel disappears from the top of the file overview page and the sidebar menu. However, it remains visible on the channel overview page. To get to the channel overview, click View all channels... in the Pinned Channels section of the menu.
You can also unpin a channel on the channel detail page. Click a channel to go to the detail page.

Pin a channel

You can pin a channel to the sidebar menu and to the top of your file overview page.

  1. Click dehaze to open the sidebar menu.
  2. Click View all channels... to go to the channel overview page.
  3. Hover over the channel you want to pin.
  4. Click more_horiz > Pin Channel.

    pin a channel

    Pinned channels display on top of your file overview and in your sidebar menu.

You can also pin a channel on the channel detail page. Click a channel to go to the detail page.

Create own channel

You can create your own channel by selecting a few filters or categories and saving them as a new channel. In this way all assets that are tagged with the selected filters/categories automatically become members of this channel.

The channels you create are private (your team cannot see them) and pinned.

  1. In your file overview, click to open the filters list.
  2. Select one or more filters or categories.
  3. Click Save as channel.
    The number of filters you selected is listed next to the icon. To delete your filter selection click the bin icon next to Filter results.

    save channel

  4. Provide a channel name and, optionally, a description.
  5. Click Create channel.

If you cannot see the channel in your overview, refresh the page.

If you want to change the name or description of the channel you created, open the channel and click Edit.

Delete channel

You can delete the channels you do not need so that they do not clutter your overview. You can only delete the channels you have created yourself.

  1. Click dehaze to open the sidebar menu.
  2. Click View all channels... to go to the channel overview page.
  3. Hover over the channel you want to delete.
  4. Click more_horiz > Delete channel.

    delete a channel

Edit channels

If you have created a channel, you can easily edit a channel's title and description to customize it. You cannot edit default channels.

  1. Click dehaze to open the sidebar menu.
  2. Click View all channels... to go to the channel overview page.
  3. Open the channel you created to edit it.
  4. Click Edit.

    edit own channel

  5. Update the title and description and save your changes.

Do you know...

What next...

Use the search bar to search for files. The search results will also list relevant channels. See Search and filter for files.